History of the ALA Columbus Chapter

Our Story

The Columbus Chapter, Association of Legal Administrators, was chartered on November 7, 1972 as the Capital City Chapter. Similar to the international organization's beginnings, attendance at the first meetings was small and informal. These meetings usually were held at the various law firms on a rotating basis. It is a credit to those early leaders that they had the foresight to recognize the value of this type of association.

Since that time, the Columbus Chapter (as it is now known) has also grown not only in terms of numbers but in the services it provides to its members. Monthly lunch meetings dealing with a wide range of issues related to the management and delivery of legal services are only the beginning. 

The Columbus Chapter has been fortunate to have had outstanding leaders throughout its almost 50 year history. we partner with teh Columbus Bar Association, the Legal Marketing Association, and other professional organizations to provide education to our members, and take part in community service activies in suppor tof hte cities in which we work and live.  

Thanks to Columbus Chapter member Steve Odum for contributing the chapter history.


2019-20 Lori Porter   1995-96 Dawn MacMinn
2018-19 Debbie Durbin   1994-95 Ray Depler
2017-18 Lisa Justus   1993-94 Steve Odum
2016-17 Jennifer Rosengrant   1992-93 Marty Eisenbarth
2015-16 Kelly Atkinson   1991-92 Sue Warden
2014-15 Sara Leech   1990-91 Lois Griffith
2013-14 Janie Jude-Askew   1989-90 Roger Yeley
2012-13 Beth Hoeft   1988-89 LeAnn Miljus
2011-12 Cara Tammaro   1987-88 Carol McAllister
2010-11 Paul Boyd   1986-87 Miriam Parker
2009-10 Laura Carpenter   1985-86 Lynn Early
2008-09 Karen Scurlock   1984-85 Vivian Hunter
2007-08 Diane Cook   1983-84 Nora Ferguson
2006-07 Becky Von Ohlen   1982-83 JoAnn Swaneck
2005-06 Jack Green   1981-82 Charlie Mustard
2004-05 Paul Hamilton   1980-81 Lynn Butterfield
2003-04 Janet Hannaway   1979-80 Joan Leonard
2002-03 Lori Muetzel   1978-79 Larry Rogers
2001-02 Randy Headley, CLM   1977-78 Phoebe Hauser
2000-01 Kit Murphy   1976-77 Leo Kennedy
1999-00 Kathy Rosenberry   1975-76 Lynn Butterfield
1998-99 Cindy Wesney   1974-75 Jerry Phelps
1997-98 Rob Sander   1973-74 Tom Flynn
1996-97 Ed Schultz   1972-73 Carol Livingston